Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize are given under the will of Alfred Bernhard Nobel, Who died in 1896.He was a famous Swedish Chemist and Engineer.He discovered Nitroglycerine and its use in the manufacture of dynamite.

Nobel Prize History

Nobel Prizes are given each year in the following six fields. The Nobel prizes for Pease, Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, and Literature were started in 1901.the Nobel Prize for Economics was started in 1967.

Nobel Prize -Awarding Bodies

Literature: The Swedish Academy of Literature.Nobel prize

Physics and Chemistry: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Medicine: The Nobel Assembly of Karolinska chirurgical(Sweden).

Economics: The Bank of Sweden.

Peace: The committee of the Norwegian parliament.

Each Recipient receives a gold medal, a diploma and a sum of money, which depends on the Nobel Foundation.

Award Presented Place and Date:

the award is presented in Stockholm at an annual ceremony on 10th December, the anniversary of Nobels Death.

Note: the awards can be given to maximum three persons in the same field at the same time /year.

The Nobel prize was not awarded between 1940 to 1942 due to the world war II.

Indian Nobel Winners

Rabindranath Tagore: first Indian got the Nobel prize in the field of Literature in the year 1913.

C.V.Raman: Second Indian got the Nobel prize in the Physics, The year 1930.

Hargobind Khorana: third Indian got the Nobel prize in the field Medicine. the year 1968.

Mother Teresa: First Indian Women got the Nobel prize in the Peace, the year 1979.

Subramanian Chandrashekar: in the field of Physics, the year 1983.

Amartya Sen: in the field of Economics, in the year 1998.

Sir VS Naipaul: in the field of Literature, in the year 2001.

Venkatraman Ramakrishna: In the field of Chemistry, in the year 2009.

Kailash Satyarthi: in the field of Peace, in the year 2014.

Important facts related to Nobel

⇒Unique winners from one one family three members got the Nobel.

Ayrin joliyat Curie -Father.

Marie Curie-Mother.

Pierre Curie-Daughter.

⇒Persons Refusing Nobel

Jean -Paul Sartre in the year 1964 from Literature.

Le Duc Tho in the year 1973 from the Peace.

Henry A Kissinger in the Year 1973 From the Peace.


Updated: June 2, 2017 — 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *