UPSC list of civil services in India


History of UPSC

The Union Public Service Commission of India was virtually established by the British Government. In 1924, Lee Commission had recommended in its report for the establishment of an independent and impartial Public Service Commission for India and on the basis of such recommendation the UPSC was established in 1926 oct 01.

first chairmen: sir Ross Barker.

It became Federal Public Service Commission under the Government of India Act, 1935.Union Public Service Commission after Independence and it was given a Constitutional status under Articles 315 to 323 of Part XIV of the constitution, titled as Services Under the Union and the States.

The Commission consists of a chairman and ten members. The terms and conditions of service of chairman and members of the Commission are governed by the Union Public Service Commission Regulations, 1969. The Chairman and other members of the UPSC are appointed by the President of India.


The constitution provide for three categories of civil services in the country
All Indian services
Central services
state services.
-The all-India- services are common to the center and states and include Indian Administration Services (IAS), India and Indian police Services(IPS),etc…parliment can create more India services by law.starting there were only two all-indin services ,sub subsequently new all-India services were created.they are categorised into two groups GroupA and GroupB


Indian Administrative Service
Indian Foreign Service
Indian Police Service
Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service
Indian Audit and Accounts Service
Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise)
Indian Defence Accounts Service
Indian Revenue Service (I.T.)
Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Assistant Works Manager, Administration)
Indian Postal Service
Indian Civil Accounts Service
Indian Railway Traffic Service
Indian Railway Accounts Service
Indian Railway Personnel Service
Indian Railway Protection Force (Assistant Security Commissioner)
Indian Defence Estates Service
Indian Information Service (Junior Grade)
Indian Trade Service, Group ‘A’ (Gr. III)
Indian Corporate Law Service

Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service (Section Officer’s Grade)
Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service
Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service
Pondicherry Civil Service
Pondicherry Police Service


UPSC Civil Sevices Exam is conducted in three stages:
stage1: -CSAT{preliminary Examination}—for syllabus—

click here

stage2: -Main examination—-for syllabus—-

click here

stage3: -Interview.

Educational Qualification

The candidate must hold a degree of any of Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University Under Section-3 of the University Grants Commission Act-1956, or possess an equivalent qualification. All candidates must have as a minimum one of the following educational qualifications….

A degree from a Central, State or Deemed university.
A degree received through correspondence or distance education.
A degree from an open university.
Age Limit

A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 . The upper age limit prescribed above will be relaxable under the following conditions:

For general category: 32 years
OBC candidates: 35 years
SC/ST candidates: 37 years.



Previews Papers 

Updated: May 16, 2017 — 2:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *